Iowa law requires residents and non-residents born after January 1, 1972 to be certified in hunter education before they are eligible to purchase an Iowa hunting license. (If you are 18 years or older, the hunter safety course may be completed 100% online here
.) If you have not completed a hunter safety course and are at least 16 years of age, you may be eligible to purchase an Apprentice Hunting License (info & qualifications
). Resident Iowa youth under the age of 16 are not required to have a license, but must be accompanied by a licensed adult 18 years of age or older. Non-resident youth under the age of 16 are not required to have completed a hunter safety/education course, but are required to possess a non-resident youth preserve license and habitat stamp.